Holding My Attention

One thing I can’t help but notice when I’m out and about in town is the number of older couples happily holding hands.

Confessionally, I search for this little thing when I’m back home in the States. I find it occasionally, but not nearly as much as I have found it here. It makes my heart melt a little. Call it cheesy, call me crazy, but I can’t help but feel like this is one of the most comforting and life-reassuring sights in this world. This one subtle act is packed with enormous weight-bearing emotions. I mean, who doesn’t appreciate seeing a couple, withered with age, still holding hands the same way they did most likely 40 or 50 years ago? If you don’t appreciate it, I’m sorry, but your heart is missing something.

I won’t get sappy here, but I just thought I’d express how happy I’ve been in seeing this so much since I’ve been here. It’s one of my favorite sights to come across.

I came across the sign in the header picture above at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art in Edinburgh. Reflecting on that and the post today, it makes me wonder if its a comment on that the only miracles in life are those that you make. To me, any couple that proves every doubt and statistic wrong is a miracle in itself. It is not a miracle because it is impossible; it is a miracle because it is something so pure that has abstained from anything tainted in the world. Tainted ideas, for example are many times lies that society has made up. To see that people have not fallen to believe what they are told and to remain fast to what is true, is a miraculous sight.

Aside from my obvious people-watching, I have nothing to confess today. Admit it though, you do it too!

I’ll write tomorrow on other things, but I thought this was a brief enough post to comment on my daily observations.

This entry was published on September 30, 2013 at 1:19 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

