Quality

The past few days I have spent my hours of light in the library, then walking out into the night for either a couple hours with friends at the local pub or sitting in and simply relaxing at the flat. I have to say, sitting in has and still is my favorite thing to do.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had some great nights out on the town since I’ve been here, but recently I have come to appreciate once more what I have always appreciated: continual laughter and meaningful conversation.

I noticed it most last night when I was sitting in the living room with my flatmate, Carly. Originally, the plan was to watch a scary movie and get in the mood for Halloween since it is less than a week away. However, after googling and reviewing ratings of horror films on Rotten Tomatoes for an hour, we began to run out of time. Well, sort of. It was already 12:30 by the time we decided against the movie idea. We ended up watching way too many Best Vines and throwback YouTube videos. Before we knew it, 2:00 was fast-approaching. Luckily, however, the clocks were set back an hour at 2:00, and we felt as young as the newly-born night.

If you’re a glass-half-empty sort of thinker, you may be thinking that sounds like a night of wasted time. On the other hand, for the glass-half-full people, the night was spent well. Although I admittedly have moments where I feel as though I spent too much time not working, I remind myself that hours enjoyed with friends are never a waste.

Perhaps our conversation may have not meant anything to most people, but it meant something to me because I got to know Carly more. Conversation really is never about the quality of the content itself, its about the quality of the interaction. This quality, I think, can be measured by reaction. One of these reactions is laughter. Based on the number of laughs we had over nothing in particular, I’d say it was a great few hours of conversation.

I’m looking forward to quality time with those of you back home come Christmas time.

This entry was published on October 27, 2013 at 10:52 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

