Food

I can now understand why America is known as the land of lard; every restaurant in the U.S. offers a french fry and soda combo with practically any meal, we offer extra cheese on dinner salads and pizza at no charge, and there’s often a cheap upgrade to a large of anything. The U.K., as I have come to notice, is a country that acts paradoxically when it comes to food selection.

I have noticed that there are either more choices or less. When there are side options or additional options to a meal, the extras are usually fairly healthy. On the other hand, there are times when there are no extras offered––at least, not for free. This system is perhaps the reason the U.K. is less obese as a whole than the U.S. Well, that and the fact that everyone walks here.

That being said, I have found myself less and less on the boundary between temptation and action; I have probably eaten more healthily over here than I have in years back home. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had my week of pepperoni and pineapple pizza, and my week of chocolate. However, those initial weeks have passed.

While speaking on transitioning, I tried something new last night: raw sushi. Yeah, Dad, did you hear that? I ate raw fish. I apologize for my lack of photographic evidence, however.

For those of you who don’t know, my Dad has been trying to convince me to eat raw sushi for years. I have only just gotten into sushi in general as of late, probably within the past year. However, any time I did eat it, it was never raw.

I suppose I’m branching out a bit here, not just in food, but in almost everything else. At least, I have become more open to the idea of things while over here.

This entry was published on October 28, 2013 at 2:14 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

